FORT BELVOIR, Va. - The Fort Myer Generals men's basketball team is off and running, defending and collecting more titles.

The start of the team's 2013-2014 basketball season commenced with a pair of preseason college exhibition games and the annual Fort Belvoir Veterans Day weekend tournament. The Generals split the exhibition matchups but swept through the 10-team tournament in defensive-crunching fashion.

General's Sean Hackshaw was named the tournament's most valuable player, Terrell Moorer was selected the tourney's most outstanding player and LaVor Postell and Montavious Waters were voted to the all-tournament team after five wins at the Belvoir base.

While Hackshaw, Moorer, Postell and Waters were garnering tournament honors, Fort Myer General Coach Marcus Hall laid the praise on the Soldiers who excelled on the defensive end of the hardwood.

"We played great team defense," Hall said of the tournament effort. "Our defensive pressure was led by Ernest Hassell, Kevin Clark and Deon Coleman. Hassell and Clark controlled the boards while Coleman applied pressure on the ball."

The Generals started tournament proceedings Nov. 9 with a 113-64 blowout against Camp Lejeune and immediately followed with another victory against the host Fort Belvoir Eagles, 85-58.

The Myer men grabbed the 27-point victory by turning a seven-point margin into a 50-30 lead by halftime when General defensive pressure turned into transition points. The team closed out the opening half scoring run with a Reginald Hawkins three-point field goal and a circus-type layup from Coleman at the intermission horn.

Big-point performances came from Hackshaw, who scored 24 against Lejeune, and against the National Capital Region Marines in the semi-finals, Postell scored 18, Waters added 17, Moorer notched 15 and Hackshaw collected 13 points.

On Nov. 10, the Generals faced off in the championship tilt versus Fort Meade, and Hackshaw paced the offense with 13 first half points and 18 overall. Postell's championship offensive effort put 17 points in the scoring column, while Waters and Coleman each downed 12 points.

The Myer men defeated Meade 89-70 for the title.