FORT LEE, Va. (Nov. 13, 2013) -- Fifteen Soldiers and three civilian employees of the Army Logistics University were recognized as 2013 Distinguished Instructors or Educators of the Year during a Nov. 7 ceremony here.

John E. Hall, ALU president; Col. Robert A Harney Jr., ALU commandant; and Command Sgt. Maj. Clifton H. Johnson, Logistics Noncommissioned Officer Academy commandant, honored the 18 individuals in front of a large gathering in Green Auditorium, Bunker Hall. The top officer, warrant officer, NCO, civilian and educator of the year who will represent ALU at a CASCOM-level competition in the near future were also named.

The top awardees are: Capt. John D. Smith, officer instructor of the year; Chief Warrant Officer 4 Aura I. Sweeney, warrant officer of the year; Staff Sgt. Perry G. Sarluca, enlisted instructor of the year; Thomas J. Seely, civilian instructor of the year; and Latrice J. Tollerson, educator/instructor of the year.

During the ceremony, Harney said the awardees were stellar individuals.

"These are professionals producing professions," he said. "I sat on the board for this competition, and it was tough to judge because of the individuals who competed. In my two years of going through this selection process, this was a tougher year based on the quality of the individuals we honored."
Hall agreed with Harney and noted the instructors are truly exceptional.

"The ones that we are going to recognize today have stood out and have gone through this competition and deserve the recognition they are about to receive," he said. "I want to congratulate them for it."

The top officer -- a Combined Logistics Captains Career Course instructor -- said his two years leading, coaching and mentoring students helped pave the way for this achievement.

"I was overjoyed when my name appeared across the screen," he said. "As one of many leaders in the Army Logistics University's allstar team of game-changing professionals, I felt very well-prepared and confident during the selection board process However, during any competition no one can ever be certain of the outcome especially when it involves a group of talented officers."

Sarluca -- a small group leader for the Ordnance Advanced Leaders Course at the Logistics NCO Academy -- said he was surprised when he learned he won; he was sure one of his co-workershad earned the top spot.

"I was very surprised," he said. "I really didn't think I had a chance because the NCOs competing with me are all amazing leaders."

The other individuals who were honored as distinguished instructors are: Maj. Thomas J. Faichney, Capt. Cameron D. Maples, Capt. Dean R. Ray, Capt. Michael T. Quigley, Chief Warrant Officer 3 Alisha J. Johnson, Chief Warrant Officer 3 Keegan Johnson, Sgt. 1st Class Mandy J. Allen, Sgt. 1st Class Sharon N. Cameron, Sgt. 1st Class Johnnie A. Manley, Sgt. 1st Class Anthony M. Pettway, Staff Sgt. Alexis E. Pereira, Leroy D. Evans Jr. and Daniel P. Ostermann.