Five Army installations were recognized by the Installation Management Command for their top efforts in antiterrorism. U.S. Army Garrison Fort Hood, Texas, won the antiterrorism award for Best Installation Program, and John Simard from Fort Drum, N.Y., was named Best Program Manager.

Two garrisons in South Korea won in the Outstanding Antiterrorism Innovation categories that are specific to the Installation Management Command. U.S. Army Garrison Yongsan earned honors for a gate and access point renovation project. Navy Cmdr. Ronald Oswald, representing USAG Daegu, won for developing a program and initiatives that improved the quality of protection of families, facilities and equipment in a post-9/11 operating environment. Oswald is the facility commander for antiterrorism at Pier 8, Busan Storage Facility and the Defense Reutilization and Marketing Office in Busan.

Winners were selected in each of the four categories based on their achievements in areas of antiterrorism and force protection.

"Antiterrorism is an important priority," said Maj. Gen. John Macdonald, IMCOM deputy commanding general. "The Department of the Army has recognized IMCOM as having one of the best antiterrorism programs in the Army. As the global war on terrorism continues, we have to put a lot of resources into this critical issue and these award winners are doing work that is imperative."

IMCOM presented $100,000 to the winners in both Best Installation Antiterrorism Program categories to use for antiterrorism programs, and the winners in the Outstanding Antiterrorism Innovation categories received $75,000.

IMCOM's antiterrorism awards winners are:

Best Installation Antiterrorism Program
Aca,!Ac Winner: USAG Fort Hood
Aca,!Ac Runner-Up: USAG Humphreys, South Korea

Best Installation Antiterrorism Program Manager
Aca,!Ac Winner: John Simard, USAG Fort Drum
Aca,!Ac Runner-Up: Ron Stamper, Fort Hood

Outstanding Antiterrorism Innovation - Installation
Aca,!Ac Winner: USAG Yongsan
Aca,!Ac Runner-Up: USAG Fort Hood

Outstanding Antiterrorism Innovation - Individual
Aca,!Ac Winner: Cmdr. Ronald Oswald, USAG Daegu
Aca,!Ac Runner-Up: Anita R. Natonick, Fort Hood

"The IMCOM portion of force protection is to secure our installations," said Clay Davis, IMCOM's deputy chief of emergency services. "The winners selected are highlights of a strong antiterrorism program and we commend them for their hard work and dedication."