Fort McCoy banquet recognizes volunteer service
Fort McCoy volunteers present a symbolic check in the amount of $261,016,
representing the money they saved the installation with their contributed
hours, to Garrison Commander Col. Steven W. Nott (far left) and Garrison
Command Sergeant Major Com... (Photo Credit: U.S. Army)

FORT McCOY, Wis. -- Fort McCoy volunteers were recognized at the Garrison Commander's Volunteer Recognition Banquet, held April 25 at the installation.

The volunteers, along with the Fort McCoy Army Volunteer Corps Coordinator Janeen Folgers and Army Community Service (ACS) Director Becky Wapp Sawyer, presented Garrison Commander Col. Steven W. Nott and Garrison Command Sergeant Major Command Sgt. Maj. Bill Bissonette with a symbolic $261,016 check for the hours volunteers donated from January through December 2012.

The amount represented the approximate amount volunteers saved Fort McCoy in 2012. Eighty-one volunteers were recognized for donating 11,188 hours of service. The dollar value of volunteer work was based on an estimated $23.33 an hour wage at the national level.

Attendees enjoyed a sit-down dinner. Mike Jaffe entertained attendees with his presentation, "Wake Up, Your Life is Calling."

He spoke of the importance of living your life to the fullest, and not settling for a life that's just 'fine.'

Nott presented volunteers with the Garrison Commander Certificate of Appreciation for their dedication and commitment to volunteerism in support of Fort McCoy's mission as a member of the Army Volunteer Corps from January-December 2012.

Receiving a Certificate of Appreciation were:

Amy Anderson;

Barbara Boulden, Norb Brown, Lexi Brown, Sarah Brueggen, Kendra Bundy, Kyle Burcham;

LeAnn Clark, Ranse Clark, Richard Coffin, Aaron Craig;

Courtney Daniels, Eve Day, Abby Duebler, Jeffrey Duebler, Sheri Dickinson, Francis Downs;

Shawn Eckelberg, Randall Eddy, John Edwards, Theresa Ertl;

Jennifer Fey, Marcus Frazee, Eric Funkhouser;

Mattheu Hansen, Shirley Harmel, Susan Harrington, Donald Herr, Bonnie Hilt, Dave Hirsch; Mary Hirsch-Justice;

Diana Jackson, Chris Jensen, Gary Johansen, Laurence Johns, Michael Jones;

Ashley Kast, Karen Kast, Carol Kaus, James Keim, Bessie Kmiecik, Alyssa Knoll;

Charlie Lautermilch, Kim Lodewick, Amy Luedtke;

Cathy Malzacher, Michael Manecke, Roger Marier, Bill Matteson;

Ronald Nedland, Consuelo Negrete, Elissa Nott;

Lawrence Peterson, Otto Peterson, John Polk;

Laura Rakow, Julie Raub, Andrell Reid, Maria Reiland, Daniel Retzlaff, Lorie Retzlaff, Megan Retzlaff, Wade Riniker, Michael Roeske, James Roessler;

Nuttida (Kam) Srisanguen, Nicole Sawyer, Thomas Sawyer, Anne Schofield, Curtis Silsby, Maryann Sliva, Barbara Smith, Kellie Smith, Vanessa Stewart;

Larry Thompson, Jessica Tomsen;

Brian Van Wormer, Daniel Voelker;

Chris Watkins; and Bradley Zimmerman.

Fifteen of the volunteers also received a Presidential Volunteer Service Award.

The President's Council on Service and Civic Participation created the President's Volunteer Service Award Program as a way to thank and honor Americans who, by their demonstrated commitment and example, inspire others to engage in volunteer service.

Recognizing and honoring volunteers sets a standard for service to others. It encourages a sustained commitment to civic participation and inspires others to make volunteering a central part of their lives.

The volunteers receiving Presidential Volunteer Service Awards were:

Gold (500+ hours in 2012) -- Francis Downs, Automotive Skills Center; and Otto Peterson, Ronald Nedland, and Roger Marier, all for Pine View Campground.

Silver (250-499 hours in 2012) -- Mary Hirsch-Justice and Norb Brown, both of the Directorate of Family and Morale, Welfare and Recreation (DFMWR) Ski Patrol.

Bronze (100-249 hours in 2012) -- Richard Coffin, Legal-Volunteer Income Tax Assistance (VITA) Program; Ranse Clark, ACS Administrative Support/88th Regional Support Command Museum/National Kids Day Support; Aaron Craig, DFMWR Ski Patrol; Sheri Dickinson, Legal-VITA Program; Dave Hirsch, DFMWR Ski Patrol; Lawrence Peterson, Legal-VITA Program; Michael Roeske, DFMWR Ski Patrol; Jessica Tomsen, ACS Administrative Support; and Bradley Zimmerman, DFMWR Ski Patrol/Woodcraft Shop.

Fort McCoy community members looking for an opportunity to positively impact the installation's military community can do so by volunteering, which contributes in ways that have a lasting effect on the community's Soldiers, Families and volunteers.

For more information, contact ACS about the volunteer program at 608-388-6507 or visit the website to view volunteer opportunities.