REDSTONE ARSENAL, Ala. -- The offices of the Secretary of the Army and Chief of Staff of the Army announced the winners for the Fiscal Year 2012 safety awards, April 19.

The U.S. Army Materiel Command received four awards in safety at the Army level of the competition out of the seven submitted.

The winners were selected for their significant contributions to preserving Army combat readiness through safety.

"This is not just an award for our safety personnel. It's an award for our entire workforce who try to do the right thing daily in looking out for each other," said Greg Berge, safety program manager.

In the safety realm, it's not always good news, but safety managers raise issues to the correct level so they can be fixed, he continued.

"Thanks to the commanders who allow the personnel to report the bad news along with the good," Berge said.

AMC's winners:

The Exceptional Organization Safety Award was awarded to Red River Army Depot in Texas.

The Individual Award of Excellence in Safety was awarded to Richard Swantek, a safety and occupational health manager of TACOM Life Cycle Management Command.

The Army's Industrial Operations Safety Award was awarded to Watervliet Arsenal, N.Y.

The Excellence in Explosives Safety Award was awarded to Crane Army Ammunition Activity in Indiana.

In the last six years, AMC individuals and organizations have won 30 Secretary of the Army and Chief of Staff Safety Awards.