Edition: Thu, October 06, 2005
Current Edition | FOCUS Submission Guidelines | Stand-To Fact Sheet | Printable Version


New Army Unit Designations in the Modular Army

Under the new Army Unit Designations, the Army will retain the army, corps, division and brigade. Here are few examples of what has changed:

- Each theater army will have the capability to be both ASCC and JFLCC to support the regional combatant commanders. This was not the case before our restructuring through the creation of Modular forces and organizations.

- The corps and division have the Army structure and manning necessary to serve as a JTF or JFLCC, reducing the risk of ad-hoc "pick-up games" and the need for extensive Army augmentation that decreases readiness across the force.

- The division is a command and control headquarters and has no organic brigades or TO&E. Any modular brigade combat team or combat support brigade may be assigned to any corps or division without extensive task organization or augmentation. This improves the strategic flexibility to provide exactly the right capabilities to support the Joint Force Commander.

- The brigade combat team is the basic combined-arms building block of the Army, with increased ISR and network-enabled battle command capabilities.

- The Army has been using the terms Unit of Employment (UEy or UEx), Unit of Action (UA), and Support Unit of Action (SUA) to describe constituent elements of its redesign. These terms were intended for conceptualization only, not long-term use.

Here is a guide to the new terminology:

- Armies: The units of employment (UEy) will become the Army component of a Joint Major Command and will be referred to geographically. This headquarters will be capable of assuming the duties of a Joint Task Force (JTF) or a Joint Force Land Component Command (JFLCC) - with augmentation from other services - and controlling operations. Soldiers assigned to one of these commands will wear the patch of a traditional numbered army and perpetuate its lineage and honors.

- Corps and Divisions: The unit of employment (UEx) will feature three-star and two-star versions, consisting of a headquarters of about 800 and 1,000 Soldiers respectively and are capable of functioning as a Joint Task Force and a Joint Force Land Component Command. The three-star UEx will be a corps, and will perpetuate the lineages and honors of an historical corps. The two-star UEx will be a division, and will perpetuate the lineages and honors of an historical division.

- Brigade Combat Teams: The unit of action (UA) will become a Brigade Combat Team (BCT), and will perpetuate the lineages and honors of a divisional brigade or separate brigade. These Brigade Combat Teams will be of three types: Heavy, Infantry, and Stryker.

- Battalions: The constituent battalions for brigade combat teams will continue the lineages and honors of U.S. Army Regimental System's battalions -- as they have for nearly 50 years. The special-troops battalion of each Brigade Combat Team will perpetuate the lineages and honors of the headquarters company of the brigade being perpetuated by the Brigade Combat Team.

The unit designs formerly known as SUAs will now be organized into five types:

- Combat Aviation Brigades
- Fires Brigades
- Battlefield Surveillance Brigades
- Combat Support Brigades (Maneuver Enhancement)
- Sustainment Brigades

Battalions subordinate to the support brigades will also continue the lineages and honors of US Army Regimental System battalions.

Source: Army G3 Force Development Office
Modular Force site on Army Homepage