Edition: Mon, April 11, 2005
Current Edition | FOCUS Submission Guidelines | Stand-To Fact Sheet | Printable Version


New Campaign Medals for Iraq, Afghanistan

The Department of the Army approved the criteria for new Iraq and Afghanistan campaign medals on Apr. 8. The medals replace the former Global War on Terrorism Expeditionary Medal. To be eligible, Soldiers must serve 30 consecutive or 60 non-consecutive days in either area, or be engaged in combat during their service, or be wounded or injured requiring evacuation from the area. Soldiers who already have the GWOT Expeditionary Medal, for service in Iraq or Afghanistan, may apply for the new medal in lieu of the earlier one. (Story)


Gen. Peter J. Schoomaker, Chief of Staff of the Army, delivers the keynote address at an American Enterprise Institute conference entitled "The Future of the United States Army" today at 12:45 p.m. EDT ( The conference starts at 9:15 a.m. EDT and will be carried live on C-Span (


Army Racing:

Tony "The Sarge" Schumacher captured his second win of the season at the O'Reilly NHRA Spring Nationals in Houston, Texas weekend, breaking a national speed record by reaching 335.32 mph in the final round on Sunday.

Angelle Sampey qualified 1st, breaking the record for elapsed time, only lose in the first round to Mike Berry. Antron Brown qualified 3rd, but lost in the first round to Craig Treble.

Joe Nemechek turned in a solid 10th place finish in the Army #01 car at the Advance Auto Parts 500 at the Martinsville Speedway.

Army Rodeo:

Zack Oakes continued his strong bull riding with a solid 3rd place finish in Laughlin last week. Army teammate Fred Whitfield finished 5th in the tie-down roping finals, with a time of 9 seconds.

2005 Armed Forces Wrestling Championships:

Army wrestlers won 38 of 42 individual matches and captured the Greco-Roman and freestyle team titles in the 2005 Armed Forces Wrestling Championships Mar. 31-Apr. 1 at the U.S. Olympic Training Center, Colorado Springs, Co. Soldiers won 10 gold and 4 silver medals. Gold medal winners were: Capt. Eric Albarracin, Capt. Neil Rodak, Staff Sgt. Dremiel Byers, Staff Sgt. Duaine Martin, Sgt. Oscar Wood, Sgt. Glenn Garrison, Sgt. Jess Hargrave, Sgt. Albert Sankey, and Spec. James Henderson. Silver medal winners were: 1st Lt. Lantz Schwabenbauer, Staff Sgt. Duaine Martin, Staff Sgt. Keith Sieracki, and Sgt. Albert Sankey.

Army Sports:

Men's Tennis: Army 4, Navy 3
Men's Lacrosse: #4 Army 7, #13 Bucknell 6
Men's Baseball: Army 5, 8, Lafayette 3, 3 (doubleheader)
Women's Softball:
(4/10) Army 6, Bucknell 4
(4/9)Army 8, 5, Bucknell 1, 4 (doubleheader)