Placard of War on Terror MOH Recipients
Photo Credit: J.D. Leipold
The names of 13 service members -- six living, seven posthumous -- who have received the Medal of Honor for their actions in Iraq or Afghanistan are inscribed in the Pentagon's Hall of Heroes as depicted by the above placard. Former Army Capt. William D. Swenson (third from left) was presented the Medal of Honor by President Barack Obama on Oct. 15 for going beyond the call of duty at the Battle of Ganjgal in Afghanistan, Sept. 8, 2009. Swenson was inducted into the Hall of Heroes, Oct. 16, 2013. Surrounding Swenson from left to right: Defense Secretary Chuck Hagel; Army Secretary John McHugh; Army Chief of Staff Gen. Ray Odierno and Sgt. Maj. of the Army Raymond F. Chandler III.
Page last updated Fri October 18th, 2013 at 00:00