About the Competition

Twenty-four of the Army’s finest Warriors, representing 12 commands from across the Army, will gather at Fort Lee, Va., Sept. 29- Oct. 3, to compete in the 2008 Best Warrior Competition.

Sergeant Major of the Army Kenneth O. Preston will oversee the annual competition which names the Department of the Army’s Soldier and Noncommissioned Officer of the Year.

Warriors selected to compete for the prestigious titles have mastered a series of benchmarks throughout the year to qualify for the Army-wide, Best Warrior Competition.

Upon arrival to the competition, these elite Soldier competitors will test their Army aptitude, conquering urban warfare simulations, board interviews, physical fitness tests, essays and Warrior tasks and battle drills relevant to today’s operating environment.

In addition, Warriors will go before two selection boards comprised of six senior sergeants major from across the Army. These boards, chaired by Sergeant Major of the Army Kenneth O. Preston, evaluate competitor appearance, military bearing and knowledge of critical Army topics.

Competition winners will be announced during the Association of the United States Army Annual Meeting Monday, Oct. 6, at the Washington D.C. Convention Center.

The Soldier and Noncommissioned Officer of the Year will receive prestigious honors and cash awards in recognition of their achievement and represent the Army at special events throughout their 2008-2009 reign.

Described as the “Super Bowl” of Army competitions, the Best Warrior will celebrate its seventh anniversary this year.