The State of Alabama Engineering Hall of Fame chooses to induct Ronald E. Chronister, deputy to the commander, U.S. Army Space and Missile Defense Command/Army Forces Strategic Command, among their ranks of significant contributors to the field of engineering.

REDSTONE ARSENAL, Ala. - The U.S. Army Space and Missile Defense Command/Army Forces Strategic Command's deputy to the commander was inducted into the Alabama Engineering Hall of Fame Feb. 23 in Birmingham, Ala.

Ronald E. Chronister, who has served at SMDC since August, learned of his nomination the same month.

"At first I thought it was a prank call, but when I was convinced it wasn't, I was deeply humbled and honored," Chronister said. "Not only for the recognition, but also because of who nominated me."

Chronister was nominated by Dr. Judy Bonner, president of the University of Alabama, and Dr. Chuck Karr, dean of engineering at Alabama.

"These are two people I have the highest regard for, both professionally and personally, and they are both from the University of Alabama, my alma mater," he said.

The Engineering Hall of Fame was founded in 1987 to honor, preserve, and perpetuate the outstanding accomplishments and contributions of individuals, projects and corporations/institutions that have brought and continue to bring significant recognition to the state of Alabama.

Nominations are made by the members of the Engineering Hall of Fame Nominating Committee, and nominees must have a significant tie to Alabama.

"I'm an Army brat," Chronister said. "My parents retired in Rogersville, which is my mother's home town, in 1975 after my father retired. Except for college and one year in Arkansas, I have lived in the North Alabama area since that time."

According to the Engineering Hall of Fame website, inductees, individually and collectively, "have made and continue to make significant contributions to the advancement of engineering and technology, leading to an enhanced economic, cultural, and political future for the state and nation."

Also being inducted in the individual category are: Larry D. Benefield, James H. Carroll Jr., James Hoskins, John S. Richardson, D.W. (Don) Vaughn, and D. Dale York. Hargrove Engineers +Constructors is being inducted in the corporation category, and in the project category are 25 Megawatt Carbon Capture and Storage Demonstration and Talladega Superspeedway.

Page last updated Thu March 14th, 2013 at 14:46