Moncrief Army Community Hospital's employees of the year are, from left, April Nokia, Quality Management Division; Jay Pringle, Operations Division; and Darlene Wilbur, Nutrition Care Division.

FORT JACKSON, S.C. -- Col. Mark Higdon, commander of Moncrief Army Community Hospital, and MACH Command Sgt. Maj. Vincent Bond announced the hospital's 2012 employees of the year during a ceremony at Victory Conference Room.

"It is very important that we recognize those who perform above their daily duties to make our organization a top notch medical treatment facility for our patients," Higdon said. "And these folks deserve the awards presented to them here today."

This year's awardees are Darlene Wilbur, Nutrition Care Division, category one; April Nokia, Quality Management Division, category two; and Jay Pringle, Operations Division, category three.

The Civilian Awards Board considered the Medical Command's criteria for employee of the year when selecting the Medical Department employees of the year.

According to the MEDCOM criteria, employees must make contributions that enhance the organization's accomplishment of the MEDCOM strategic objectives and mission, teamwork and public image. They are to possess a professional attitude toward self and others and a willingness to share credit with other team members.

Employees considered should be commitment to excellence demonstrated by responsive public service, continuous improvement and stewardship of resources. Personal initiative, creativity and professionalism are to be reflected in the employee's performance of daily duties. Customer service response rounds off the list of criteria set forth by MEDCOM.

"You can tell the quality and degree of patient and family-centered care and service we are providing at Moncrief by looking at all of the employees standing before us," Higdon said. "The criteria set forth by the board confirm these are deserving awardees ... It is fortunate our staff consists of professionals who possess the insight and know-how to make our facility run a more efficient (way) daily. These are the skills and talents we need in order to continue giving our community the best health care possible."

The employees of the year compete in three categories. Category one is for GS-8 and below non-supervisory and WG-11 and below employees. The second category includes GS-9 and above employees in non-supervisory positions; and category three is GS-14 and GP-14 in supervisory and managerial positions.

"What makes these competitions even harder is we can only have one winner in each category," Bond said. "From where I stand, everyone here is a winner. And this recognition ceremony is for you. You each have contributed a lot to making this hospital one of the best in the Army."

The employees of the year received a $2,000 cash award and will compete for MEDCOM employee of the year honors. Each winner was also presented the Achievement Medal for Civilian Service.

Page last updated Thu February 14th, 2013 at 09:44