Risk Management Award
Presented by the Director of Army Safety to Army safety professionals for their accomplishments in keeping Soldiers, Families and Civilians safer.

FORT RUCKER, Ala.--Twelve Army units and individuals have been named recipients of the Director of Army Safety Risk Management Award for their efforts in reducing accident rates and promoting safety awareness.

"These recipients represent the superior level of work our Army safety professionals around the world do every day in keeping our Soldiers, Families and Civilians safe," said Brig. Gen. Timothy J. Edens, director of Army Safety and commanding general, U.S. Army Combat Readiness/Safety Center. "Their work contributed to making fiscal 2012 the second-safest year for Soldiers on record, with a 9 percent annual decline in accidental fatalities."

Five units from First Army Division West, Fort Hood, Texas, received the award: 1st Battalion, 364th Combat Service Support Regiment; 2nd Battalion, 361st Combat Support/Combat Service Support Regiment; 3/358th Field Artillery Battalion; 166th Aviation Brigade; and Headquarters and Headquarters Detachment.

Maj. Mike Sabatini, Staff Sgt. Richard Yusko, Dale Wagner, and the 72nd Field Artillery Brigade, all of First Army Division East, Fort George G. Meade, Md., each received an award.

The remaining awards went to First Army Division East, Rock Island, Ill.; Staff Sgt. Donald Sutton, 3rd Brigade Combat Team, 4th Infantry Division, Fort Carson, Colo.; and the Training and Doctrine Command Band, Fort Eustis, Va.

For additional information on the Army Safety Program and Army safety awards, visit https://safety.army.mil.


Page last updated Wed November 14th, 2012 at 15:19