Ribbon Cutting
FORT LEE, Va. (May 3, 2011) - Lt. Gen. Mitchell Stevenson, deputy chief of staff for logistics, Department of the Army and Col. Clark LeMasters, Jr., chief of ordnance, officiate the ribbon cutting ceremony to memorialize five new training facilities on

FORT LEE, Va. (May 11, 2011) - The ordnance Soldier creed states, "I will utilize every available talent and means to ensure that superior mobility, fire power, and communications are advantages enjoyed by the United States Army over its enemies." These words were the foundation for the U.S. Army Ordnance Corps' celebration of 199 years of excellence, professionalism and ordnance during their 2011 Ordnance Week, held here May 2 - 5.

The event provided a great professional development opportunity for the community.

According to Command Sgt. Maj. Sultan Muhammad, Ordnance School command sergeant major, Soldiers focus heavily on being multifunctional during contingency operations. Bringing the community together for the week allows participants to refocus on the three core competencies of ordnance: maintenance, ammunition and explosive ordnance disposal.

"The venue provides an opportunity for all ordnance Soldiers, whether commissioned, warrant officer or enlisted, to come to Fort Lee and get reglued back to the Ordnance Crops," said Muhammad.

The main events kicked off on the second day with an overview on the state of the Ordnance Corps provided by Col. Clark W. LeMasters. Jr., Chief of Ordnance and Ordnance School commandant. Maj. Gen. James L. Hodge, Combined Arms Support Command commanding general, also briefed leaders on the current state of logistics.

Those who were unable to attend the briefings were able to watch them live from their computers though Defense Connect Online. This is the first time the technology has been used for Ordnance Week.

Following the overviews, personnel moved into smaller groups to discuss issues and accomplishments of relevance to the field. "These sessions provided us an opportunity to talk about the hard subjects we are faced with out there in the footprint," said Muhammad.

The Hall of Fame induction ceremony closed out the day as new members were welcomed into the elite group of major contributors to ordnance history.

"I feel like every ordnance Soldier is a hall of famer, but only a select few get to wear that medal around their neck and be recognized for their contributions," said Muhammad. "Over 58 individuals were nominated to be considered for the Ordnance Hall of Fame but only 13 were selected to walk across the stage and become members of this prestigious group."

In addition to the 13 contemporary honorees, four historical inductees were also honored for their enduring contributions during the ceremony.

On the last day, more professional development sessions were conducted and the corps held a ribbon cutting ceremony to signify the completion of the Ordnance School central campus. Afterward, five buildings were dedicated in honor of former Ordnance leaders.

The Fire Control Department was named after Gen. Henry A. Miley, the first ordnance officer to attain the rank of four-star general. Turret Department students will enter into the hall dedicated to Maj. Gen. Julian S. Hatcher, a critical leader during World War II who served as the Chief of Field Service.

Students attending courses in the Advanced Wheel Department will enter Dickson Hall, named after Brig. Gen. Tracy C. Dickson, a pioneer in the areas of gun construction, x-ray testing and centrifugal casting. The Advanced Track Department was named after Brig. Gen. Horace Porter, Medal of Honor recipient and aide-de-camp to generals Grant and Sherman.

The last building, the Metal Working Armament and Electronics Department, is dedicated to Chief Warrant Officer 2 Bernard Cohen, a recipient of the Legion of Merit for technical ingenuity whose contributions were numerous during the Korean Conflict.

Following the ceremony, LeMasters said the new buildings are among the most state-of-art training facilities in the Army and will benefit ordnance Soldiers everywhere.

While honoring the past was a major component of this year's venue, planning has already started for the 200 year anniversary.

"The chief of ordnance told me to take a one-week break and then get everyone together and come up with some initiatives and ways to truly honor 200 years of ordnance service and contributions to the U.S. Army and America," said Muhammad. "I don't want to give a preview because it would take away from the shock and awe that I know everyone will experience next year."


Hall of Fame Inductees were as follows:
Historical - Col. Leroy T. Hillman, Lt. Col. Charles B. Kingsbury, Lt. Col. Francis H. Parker, Maj. Allen F. Grum

Contemporary - Lt. Gen. Claude V. Christianson, Maj. Gen. Willie B. Nance, Jr., Maj. Gen. William "Mike" Lenears, Maj. Gen. Vincent E. Boles, Brig. Gen. Rebecca S. Halstead, Col. Mary G. Goodwin, Chief Warrant Officer 5 Roscoe D. Leggs, Jr., Chief Warrant Officer 5 Jeffrey A. Martin, Chief Warrant Officer 4 John W. Engeman, Command Sgt. Maj. Sammy J. Brinson, Jr., Sgt. Maj. James "Chip" Herrell, James L. Flinn III, James Q. Wheeler

Page last updated Fri July 22nd, 2011 at 12:16