IMCOM-Korea top warriors named
IMCOM Korea named the winners of their Top Warrior Competition for 2010. They are, from left to right, Soldier of the Year, Pfc. Thomas Stout Jr., KATUSA of the Year, Cpl. Kim Ki-dong, and NCO of the Year, Cpl. Matthew Anderson.

YONGSAN GARRISON, South Korea - For the 12 finalists of the Installation Management Command-Korea Best Warrior Competition, the preparation began months in advance, with the final round looking a bit like a week on the set of the popular TV show Survivor.

The warriors competed in the Army Physical Fitness Test, Warrior Training Tasks, land navigation, weapons qualification, written essay and an oral assessment board.

Unlike Survivor, there are three eventual winners: KATUSA of the Year, Soldier of the Year and NCO of the Year. The KATUSA category is unique to Korea, the acronym stands for, Korean Augmentation to the US Army. The KATUSA Soldiers have served alongside US service members since July 1950.

The 2010 winners are: NCO of the Year, Cpl. Matthew Anderson; KATUSA of the Year, Cpl. Kim Ki-dong; and Soldier of the Year, Pfc. Thomas Stout Jr.

IMCOM-Korea Command Sergeant Major, Command Sgt. Maj. David Abbott oversaw the competition which sends the two US Soldiers forward to the IMCOM Headquarters competition, with the ultimate goal of having competitors reach the Army's Best Warrior Competition Sept. 28 - Oct. 3, 2010 at Ft. Lee, Va.

These warriors have answered America's call for selfless service and sacrifice, Abbott said.

Anderson summed up his military experience in the essay portion: "I have been placed in a line of direct responsibility and accountability to accept the torch when my senior leaders pass it to me."

Just like in Survivor, the tribe has spoken; these three young Soldiers will carry the torch proudly forward in their careers and life.

Page last updated Fri July 22nd, 2011 at 12:16