4-10th gives 120th chilly reception
Members of the 4th Battalion, 10th Infantry Regiment intramural flag football team show off their trophies after capturing the championship Monday night.

FORT JACKSON, S.C. -- Players with the 4th Battalion, 10th Infantry Regiment (formerly Victory Support Battalion) began this year's intramural flag football season with a new name. But they finished with a familiar title - champions.

The 4-10th beat the 120th Adjutant General Battalion (Reception), 13-6, in a late-night game Monday.

The 120th was favored to win, having already clinched first place in the Monday/Wednesday League. The team had beaten Tuesday/Thursday winners, MEDDAC, in a 7 p.m. game, while 4-10th claimed the chance for the title by defeating the 3rd Battalion, 60th Infantry Regiment at 6 p.m.

In the championship, both teams were scoreless at the half. The 120th scored early in the second half. The 4-10th's Stefan McGraw scored on a long run to tie the game.

With less than 2 minutes in the game, 4-10th's Josh Stover picked off a pass and returned it for a touchdown, essentially securing the team's win, and with it, the championship.
This is the team's second straight title.
Carlos Martin, 120th coach, took the loss in stride.

"We felt great. We worked hard to get here," he said. "We beat (4-10th) twice; it's hard to beat a team three times.

"We lost the game in one play. (But) there's no shame in losing to a good team," he added.

After two losses, 4-10th coach John Taylor said his team looked forward to the chance to play the 120th again.

"Coming into the game, we knew we were going to win," he said. "We just wanted 120th to make it (to the playoffs). We wanted revenge."

It also felt good, he said, to have won two back-to-back championships.

Perry Flowers, team adviser, said the champs have already set their sights on another goal.

"We won this because we're going for that Commander's Cup."

Editor's note: The Commander's Cup is awarded to the battalion that accumulated the most points throughout the intramural sports year. The cup was awarded at Wednesday's sports banquet. See next week's Leader for more on the sports banquet.

Page last updated Fri July 22nd, 2011 at 12:16