(Fort Leavenworth, Kan.) -- Lt. Gen. William B. Caldwell, IV, Combined Arms Center and Fort Leavenworth commander, announced the establishment of seven designated academic chairs at the Command and General Staff College Feb. 6.

In a ceremony at the Lewis and Clark Center, Caldwell named the first six CGSC faculty members who will fill new academic chairs. They are Dr. Ralph Doughty, Commandant\'s Distinguished Chair for Interagency and Multinational Studies; Dr. Daniel Ebert, Commandant's Distinguished Chair for National Intelligence Studies; Dr. Jack Kem, Commandant's Distinguished Chair for Military Innovation; Col. John Cherrey, U.S. Air Force, Commandant's Distinguished Chair for Air, Space, and Cyberspace Studies; Col. Mark Monroe, U.S. Marine Corps, Commandant's Distinguished Chair for Expeditionary Studies; and Capt. Scott Jerabek, U.S. Navy, Commandant's Distinguished Chair for Naval Studies. One designated chair, the Commandant's Distinguished Chair for Strategic Communication, has yet to be filled.

"It gives me great pleasure to take this opportunity to recognize deserving faculty members, reinforce our relationships with our service and interagency partners, and prompt the recruitment and retention of CGSC faculty members who think creatively and critically," Caldwell said. "This program will benefit our students for many years to come."

Three other designated chairs already exist: the General of the Armies George C. Marshall Chair of Military History, the Chairman of the Joint Chiefs of Staff Chair of Military Studies, and the Ike Skelton Distinguished Chair of Counterinsurgency Studies. Col. Scott Weaver, U.S. Army, currently fills the JCS Military Studies chair, while national searches are forthcoming for the Marshall and Skelton chairs.

Designated chairs recognize faculty filling an academic chair designated by endowment, memorandum of agreement with other agencies or institutions, or other position specific relationship. They are established or eliminated by the CGSC commandant based on the recommendation of the College's dean and academic department directors and the mission requirements of the institution.

Dr. Ralph Doughty, Interagency and Multinational Studies chair, sees his appointment as a chance to further serve the College. "Serving in this position is a great opportunity to work with key leaders in government departments and agencies to help each of us learn how to work together more effectively," he said. "They don't understand how we operate, and we don't understand how they operate ... educating and training our people side-by-side is the best way to learn how to function together as a real team."

Caldwell also announced the establishment of six honorary academic chairs dedicated for each of the five teaching departments in the Command and General Staff School and one in the School of Advanced Military Studies. Honorary chairs recognize faculty who distinguish themselves through outstanding teaching, scholarship, research, or other academic service in support of the College's education, research, or outreach mission.

"By creating these academic chairs, we accomplish two things," said Dr. James Martin, CGSC associate dean of academics, "First, these appointments recognize the hard work and excellence of our faculty members and reward them with support for their research agendas. Second, they create positions that will attract impressive academic talent from outside that will strengthen our intellectual core. Our movement to create academic chairs will serve to accomplish both of these objectives in the long run and will move CGSC on par with its professional military education and civilian academic equals."

Page last updated Fri July 22nd, 2011 at 12:16