Via accepts AFCEA award
AFCEA International President and CEO Kent Schneider (left) and Chairman of the Board Alfred Grasso (right) present Gen. Dennis L. Via (center) with the Admiral Jon L. Boyes Medal for Distinguished Service to AFCEA at an awards banquet Wednesday in Washington, D.C.

WASHINGTON, D.C., (September 26, 2013) - The Army Materiel Command's Commanding General Gen. Dennis L. Via accepted the Armed Forces Communications and Electronics Association's leading award Wednesday for exceptional career service.

Via received the Admiral Jon L. Boyes Medal for Distinguished Service to AFCEA. The medal is the organization's premier award, given for exceptional career service to AFCEA. Winners are selected by an appointed committee.

"This recognition brings great honor to my family and to my career as a United States Soldier," Via said. Throughout Via's career as a U.S. Army Signal Corps officer, he has focused on Command, Control, Communications, Computers, Intelligence, Surveillance and Reconnaissance, which the professional communications industry refers to as C4ISR.

"I know firsthand that we must maintain C4ISR technological overmatch to defeat our adversaries," Via said. "Consistent, open communication and partnership with military, industry and allies is key to that success."

In a letter to Via announcing the award, AFCEA International President and CEO Kent Schneider told the general he was selected based on his exceptional service related to defense, intelligence and homeland security.

"Your outstanding contributions over time are legendary," Schneider wrote. "You commanded signal units at every level in the Army, commanded the U.S. Army Communications and Electronics Command, and served as our nation's director of Command, Control, Communications and Computers on the Joint Staff. Finally, you are commanding the U.S. Army Materiel Command as the Army's first ever four star to come from the Signal Corps."

The Admiral Jon L. Boyes award was established in 1978. Past recipients include H. Ross Perot, Army Gen. Colin Powell and late senators Barry M. Goldwater and Daniel K. Inouye.

Page last updated Thu September 26th, 2013 at 15:38